Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List

..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....




• Clifford L. Alexander, Jr. - Secretary, Department of the Army
• James E. "Jim" Clyburn - The House Majority Whip in the 110th Congress. (2nd Black to hold that position).
• William Hastie - First Governor of the U.S. Virgin Islands
• Rev. Jesse Jackson - Founder of both entities that merged to form Rainbow/PUSH. Candidate for the United States Presidency in 1984 and 1988. Served as “Shadow Senator” for DC from 1991 to 1997.
• Vernon E. Jordan, Jr. - 2001 Springarn Medal recipient. Executive Director of United Negro College Fund and a former president of the National Urban League. He also served as a close adviser to President Bill Clinton
• Clarence Lightner - 1st Black Mayor of Raleigh, NC
• Dr. David Satcher - 16th Surgeon General of the United States. He also held the posts of the Director of the CDC and the Administrator of the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry from 1993 to 1998.
• Walter E. Washington - 1st Home-Rule mayor of the District of Columbia. Former Executive Director of the National Capital Housing Authority.
• George L.P. Weaver - Former U.S. Secretary of Labor
• Robert C. Weaver - First African American to serve on the Presidential Cabinet when he became Secretary of Housing and Urban Development in 1966 under President Lyndon B. Johnson
• Togo D. West, Jr. - 3rd US Secretary of Veterans Affairs. Also served as US Secretary of the Army. Currently, the President of the National Capital Area Council of the Boy Scouts of America.
• Lawrence Douglas Wilder - 1st Black to be elected as a governor. He served as Governor of the Commonwealth of Virginia from 1990 to 1994. He is currently the mayor of Richmond, Virginia. He also received the Bronze Star for his military heroics in the Korean War.


Civil Rights

• Wiley Branton - Attorney of the "Little Rock Nine" and former Dean of Howard University School of Law
• Oliver Hill - Civil Rights attorney whose work against racial discrimination helped end the doctrine of “separate but equal”. 1999 Presidential Medal of Freedom recipient.
• Benjamin Hooks - Succeeded Roy Wilkins as Executive Director of the NAACP, the most effective of all civil rights organizations
• Rev. Jesse Jackson - Former Director of Operation PUSH; Founder, Rainbow Coalition
• James Nabrit - Former Dean of Howard University Law School and former president of Howard University. A leader in the training of the early Civil Rights lawyers
• Grant Reynolds - Played a major role in President Truman's 1948 decision to desegregate the United States Armed Forces
• Roy Wilkins - Long-time Executive Director of the NAACP



• Herman Dreer - Teacher, minister, writer, and author of The History of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc., 1911-1961
• Benjamin E. Mays - President Emeritus of Morehouse College, writer and lecturer. Mentor to Dr. Martin L. King, Jr.
• Dr. Carter G. Woodson - The earliest and most outspoken proponent for the study of Black History.

Back to Previous Page